Pumpkin counting and patterns

I found a new link for seasonal math activities called Mathwire.com.

They had this cute halloween themed paged called 10 Pumpkins up on Top. 3 Monsters with pumpkins on their heads.

Last week at Target I found halloween mini erasers in the shapes of black cat faces and pumpkins. I ended up using them with the pumpkin page with my 4.5 year old.

The page comes with it’s own pumpkins printed on the page, but I had my 4.5 year old use the mini-erasers to stack on their head and count out ten erasers for each monster.

Photobucket

Then she ended up counting all of them for a total of 30 pumpkins.

Photobucket

When she was done, we ended up making a pattern out of the cat faces and pumpkins.

Photobucket

You can print these other fall math patterns from mathwire too.

Photobucket

This entry was posted in Math, seasonal activities, Toddler/Preschooler. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pumpkin counting and patterns

  1. Natalie says:

    Thanks for this link! I love looking for new math activities, and this looks like fun. Can you share your tips for counting beyond 10 and generally understanding 2 digit numbers?

  2. growinginpeace says:

    Do you mean understanding the written 2 digit number, or just saying the numbers?

    This daughter was always a NUMBERS girl. She learned to count way before she learned her alphabet. She was introduced to bigger than 10 numbers by using this book:

    My Little Counting Book:

    They have pictures and number that go up to 1-20 and also in the back they have 1-100.

    Practice counting more than 10 things at a time. She still gets a little confused by 13 and 14 (they both sound like 13), but the rest is good. I always look for counters in sets of 100. Mini erasers from Target’s dollar section are good and cheap. Two bags of 60 count mini-Halloween erasers cost only $2.

    I sit with her and count things, and correct her when she makes a mistake. We keep it fun. When it’s not fun anymore, the games go back in the drawers.

    Her favorite number is 154,552 – or there abouts. It keeps changing every time we play this game:

    I say, “I love you”
    She says “I love you too”
    I say, “oh, yeah, I love you more”
    She says, “I love you most”
    I say, “I love you times infinity”
    She says, “I love you infinity times 10”
    I say, “I love you infinity times 1000”
    She says “I love you infinity times 154, 552”.

    She got that number from us once, and it just struck her as a “really big number”. She doesn’t always say it correctly either, sometimes she say it like this: “1 fousand 54 hundwed, five hundred and fifty-two”.

    Now, would she actually recognize the number written as 154,552? I doubt it.

    I can assure you she doesn’t get this number thing from me. Her dad’s grandfather was supposedly had a calculator in his head and could easily perform operations on 3 and 4 digit numbers without paper.

    Is she going to be that good? Eh, who knows.

  3. Natalie says:

    Thanks for your response. We have the same counting book, but it kind of lost its appeal after being read untold times throughout her second year of life. I was actually asking not so much about counting as about recognizing numbers – for example, knowing that 52 is “fifty two”. Anna is pretty good up to 20, but then gets completely confused.

  4. growinginpeace says:

    Actually, that’s not something I really think much about. Whether my daughter knows that 52 is “fifty two” isn’t that important to me, but that’s mostly because she’ll cover that in kindergarten.

    My other two kids could count to over 100 by the time they got to kindergarten, but I don’t even know if they could recognize the bigger numbers. If they did, I didn’t know it. And if they didn’t, it didn’t hurt them not to know it before kindergarten.

    If you really wanted to get her to recognize her numerals, then using a 100’s chart would help. Google it for a printable version of it. Then you could use small items (dried beans, small buttons) to have her place on the chart to get the idea.

  5. growinginpeace says:

    Now that you mention it, I might try to come up with some ideas for posts using the 100s chart.

  6. Adriana says:

    Thank you for the links! I am always looking for math resources.

  7. growinginpeace says:

    You are welcome Adriana. I’m trying to get math resources for every season to add to our collection.

  8. Sue says:

    Last year I carved a Pumpkin with the pi Symbol on it.
    Making “Pumpkin Pi” The kids in my math class loved it .

    I got the pattern from http://www.stoneykins.com
    the pattern was on this Page:
    http://www.stoneykins.com/Patterns/products/Pumpkin-Pi-CO.html

  9. Pingback: Hands-On Pumpkin Counting… « Teaching Heart Blog

  10. Anonymous says:

    Excellent resource!! Thank you so much!!

Leave a comment