Bears on the bus math

In the kindergarten class, one of the math worksheets in Saxon Math involves story problems for bears getting on and off a bus to illustrate early addition/subtraction concepts.

I found a great printable called Animal bus from Sparklebox. It is a two page printout of a full color double decker bus with different animals you can take on and off the bus.

I did print off the animals, but haven’t cut out and laminated them yet. Instead, I used our bear counters I got from Walmart a few years ago (on clearance for $3) with my 4 year old. I made up a story about bears going to different stops and some bears got on and some bears got off the bus.

Photobucket

I plan to use this too when my middle child goes to kindergarten. Yes, she’ll get those worksheets to do at home too, but she’ll get the 3-d full color experience instead of the black and white 2-d school version.

When she was done with the bus, she ended up making what she called a rollercoaster out of square lego bricks and put many bears on top of it. It is neat to see her little mind at work!

Photobucket

This entry was posted in Math, Toddler/Preschooler. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bears on the bus math

  1. I really like reading your math activities. I am getting ready to try some out. My son has been obsessed (to put it mildly) with numbers and counting since he was 2.5 and I can always use some fresh ideas.

  2. growinginpeace says:

    My littlest has always preferred numbers to letters and so I followed her lead and she likes it this way much better. She is finally coming around to doing some letter activities, but she definitely prefers numbers (must be just like her engineering dad!).

  3. Natalie says:

    This is a great idea. Lined up counting bears made me laugh – great mind is at work🙂

  4. growinginpeace says:

    Natalie – this is the first time the four year old lined things up horizontally. She normally stacks things vertically. She thought it was hilarious to stack lego people (she stuck the foot of one lego person to the head of another lego person and stacked them 4 people high).

  5. Pingback: Using Teddy Bear Counters in Guided Math Lessons: Ideas for Grades k-6 « Dr. Nicki's Guided Math Blog

Leave a Reply

