Fall Nature Table

I’m entering this tree exploration and fall nature table post to Growing and Learning by Leaps and Bounds blog Tree Hugging Tots Mr. Linky round-up. This week’s theme is Trees.

*****

It was a nice day out today – better than we’ve had in weeks, so I decided to get the girls outside and collect some bits for our nature table.  We went to the local farm stand for some Indian corn and squash, to a local oak tree for some acorns.  

Photobucket

Photobucket

When we got home, I put together our fall nature table, knowing that it’s not going to stay this way (my middle daughter has already started exploring and adding her own touches). I love the Waldorf nature tables I’ve seen around the blogworld. These nature tables are hands-on displays of seasonal items found in nature or handmade toys or books to read.

Photobucket

These are a mix of real and fabric pumpkins, squash and gourds and one wooden red apple.

Photobucket

I love the Indian multicolored corn.

Photobucket

I will be turning these two peg people into fall gnomes.  These are the huge acorns we collected today.

Photobucket

The winter gnomes were helping with the harvest. The acorns on this tray are some I collected on our trip to Wisconsin Dells in September.

Photobucket

In fact, here’s a great snap of a squirrel with an acorn in its mouth I took on that trip.

Photobucket

And my littlest exploring the nature table and showing me a wooden acorn.

Photobucket

This entry was posted in Nature Study, science, seasonal activities, Tree Hugging Tots. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fall Nature Table

  1. Mika says:

    Lovely idea! Those are amazing acorns – they’re few and far between in our part of the world but we can find horse chestnuts easily.

  2. growinginpeace says:

    This was the first year I was able to find huge, dark brown acorns. Everywhere I go, I look for acorns, but they are so small. I was very excited to find these today.

    I think for our winter table, I’m going to put chestnuts on them (and pinecones and other goodies).

  3. teachingmybookworms says:

    that is awesome! I do a weekly Kids Explore Nature if you want to go check it out its called Tree Hugging Tots

  4. growinginpeace says:

    Thanks TMB

    I will check it out.
    🙂

  5. Natalie says:

    I am jealous about the acorns. I have never seen ones that are so huge. Your nature table is a nice idea. Anna has a small treasure box where she collects her nature finds. I noticed, however, that once the treasure gets in, it never gets out again.

  6. threegirlpileup says:

    Hey there, your post linked to mine on our fall nature table. Yours is lovely!

  7. growinginpeace says:

    Thank you! I’ll have to check yours out too.

  8. I love your fall nature table! Could I have permission to use your second nature table photo for my activity of the week on Monday? I’ll be sure to credit Casey and the Wonder Years. I’ll be linking to your post as well. Please let me know if that would be alright. Thanks so much!

  9. growinginpeace says:

    Yes, absolutely. As long as it’s okay that this post is from last year. This year it looks pretty much the same. Which is why I didn’t post pictures.

    Thank you.

  10. Thanks so much for giving me permission to use the photo of your wonderful nature table! It’s totally fine that it’s from last year. I enjoy finding great activities for my activity of the week, regardless of when they were posted. I featured your nature table at http://livingmontessorinow.com/2010/10/25/nature-trays-and-nature-tables/. Please feel free to pick up a “featured on” badge by clicking on the tab at the top of my blog.

  11. Pingback: Nature Trays and Nature Tables | LivingMontessoriNow.com

Leave a Reply

