The best kind of compliments I could get

As if you couldn’t tell, I have been away from this blog. There was a few reasons for this absence.

I started the National Novel Writing Month in November, with the intention of completing 50,000 words in 30 days. I started off very strong, writing a fictional account of my 5 years in a forensic crime lab. You can read some excerpts on my other blog, Raising Smart Girls

I got to 15,000 words last Monday (November 9), when things came to a screeching halt, when I received the call I’d been dreading, that oldest daughter’s first grade teacher from last year finally lost her 5 year battle with ovarian cancer. She was everything to my daughter last year at school, and her teacher loved all of her students, too, but seemed particularly fond of my daughter. The very same day, I got a call for a possible job I wasn’t even looking for in a microbiology lab.

On Tuesday, both me and my daughter broke down crying when I saw her looking at year yearbook at her teacher’s picture.

I ended up taking a chance to go to speak with the person I worked with 17 years ago to see if I’d be interested in the position they were looking to fill.

I went last Wednesday and I haven’t heard anything back. While it’s not really good timing and I think I’m going to pass on it, I was able to update my dusty old resume and now I feel a little bit more ready for the next opportunity. My kids will be in school all day next year, and I’ll be better able to enjoy going to work, knowing I won’t have to find day care arrangements for them.

And then, on Thursday, my youngest smacked her head on our wood playset equipment the backyard, and we went to the emergency room and she ended up getting 2 staples in her head. Yeah, that was rough for her.

On Friday, we had all gone to Mrs. P’s wake. It went better than I thought it would.

So needless to say, I’d been trying to get back to equilibrium, and think about what I want to be doing, with my blogs, with my writing, with my mothering and career goals.

Just when I think I’m not doing much, I get an email, or a word of encouragement or someone links to my blog and says something INCREDIBLY touching, like this, from Jen at Dave*Jen*Barnes:

I totally thought she was a homeschooling mom, but she’s not. If we put the boys into public school, this is the kind of mom I want to be. The Wonder Years blog is choc-full of awesome ideas for teaching kids all kinds of skills.

Wow! What an honor to be thought of in that way. Just when I thought I’m going to let this blog idle until I figure out what to do with it (and my time), (and I was cautioned by a commenter on my other blog not to, because it is a very good resource for others), I get further confirmation that this blog is definitely worth nurturing.

In addition to finding that lovely comment, I also got another blog award by Leptir Montessori Blog. My next post will be passing this award on…I just have to go get my oldest from school.

I realized something important today. Even though I don’t get paid for my time on the computer, blogging has fulfilled a great need for me to share what I learn, to reach out and impact others, even if it’s just in a small way. It means a lot to me, more than you might know.

Thank you, my readers, for finding my blog helpful and fun. I really do appreciate the thanks I get from all who take the time to let me know this blog has made an impact on you.

I am going to assess how to grow with this blog and in general, where I want to go with all of the blogs I have, as they have been a meaningful part of my life and I’d like to see them develop and become even more useful to others.

Many blessings to you.

This entry was posted in blog awards, random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The best kind of compliments I could get

  1. Jennifer says:

    Oh! I’m blushing! This blog is such an inspiration to me… I’ve recommended it to so many of my friends. I LOVE what you have here. Even if you don’t update it often, the archives are wonderful.

    I’m so sorry to read about Mrs. P’s passing, the wake and the ER visit and all the seemingly BAD things that have happened this month. I don’t know what to say. Speechless.

  2. growinginpeace says:

    Jennifer,

    Thank you so much for your kind words and for the recommendations. I have been considering what exactly I want to do with this blog and The Exploration Station blog I have too. I’m not giving up on them, but I do want to grow with it as my kids grow.

    I started this blog as a way to find the resources I wanted to use (instead of using the web browser bookmarks) and to document some of the little projects we’ve done, and to help myself grow and learn in my role as a mother and my children’s first techer and give me something to look forward to. I spent a few years trying to kick the blues after having 3 kids in 3.5 years and giving up my job to take care of my family.

    Having the positive feedback is reminding me that there is another benefit to having a blog – meeting so may wonderful people out there and being able to see that people do read, and care, and get ideas they can try at home. It’s very affirming.

    As far as the bad things that happened, it’s okay. Bad things are obstacles to work around, and sometimes they slow me down, but they do make me appreciate the good things that much more, and it makes me appreciate the nice people that cross my path.🙂

    Take care and I really can’t thank YOU enough for your kind words to me.

  3. Natalie says:

    I certainly hope that you keep this blog going! This was literally the first blog I discovered when I started blogging myself, and I really enjoy coming back here.

  4. I also really enjoy your blog. I always know when I see a post in my reader that something interesting, useful and creative is waiting to be read.

  5. growinginpeace says:

    M and K –

    I appreciate the kind words. I think that’s what I’m worried about at times – when I DON’T have something interesting, useful or creative to say. There’s a lot on my mind, and not all of it is blog worthy. 😉

  6. How sad for your daughter to have to deal with the passing of a teacher she loved. My son adores his teachers and was completely devastated when one of them left the school. This would be so much more difficult. ((hug))

    Congratulations on the well deserved blog award!

  7. Pingback: IComLeavWe: Day 7 | PhD in Parenting

  8. growinginpeace says:

    Thank you Annie. Losses are difficult aren’t they?

    It was rough for a little while for my daughter, and now things have settled down for her. I just related the story to a relative at Thanksgiving, and I still got tears in my eyes and a little verklempt. I couldn’t continue the story for a minute or so. It was hard to pull myself back together. Thankfully my child wasn’t in the room when I told the story.

    I still have to pass along the blog award, I’m a little behind on.

Leave a Reply

