Picnic Table Talk – All about the ABC’s

This week two of ABC and 123 Learning Cooperative’s Summer Prize Picnic. This week’s Table Talk is all about the ABC’s.

Our “new” favorite activity is making secret pictures. I came across this idea from a teacher’s blog who did this as an art technique for pictures, and unfortunately, I can’t remember who (and I forgot to bookmark it). If you recognize this technique, please let me know because I liked more of your ideas and I want to credit you for this one. Instead of making secret pictures, we made secret letters.

This idea reminds me of what we do for Easter eggs when you use the clear wax crayon to make designs before you dye the egg.

What you need:

A white candle (tea-light or birthday candle)
Thick white paper (we used cardstock)
Watercolor paints
Wide paintbrush (using a small brush takes too much time).

Procedure –

Take a candle and draw your letter (or word or picture) on the white paper. Use heavy pressure so that you transfer a lot of wax to the paper.

Give the paper to the kids (be sure it’s wax side up), and have them paint stripes of colors on the paper and watch the letters or picture be revealed.

Photobucket

Photobucket

As the letters were becoming visible, I asked the girls to guess what letter they thought the were seeing and then let them finish the painting to find out if they were right.

This was a lot of fun and we are going to do more of these. If you use cardstock, you could actually turn these into cards you can give away.

This entry was posted in ABC and 123's Picnic, alphabet fun, Arts and crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Picnic Table Talk – All about the ABC’s

  1. teachingtinytots says:

    pretty paintings! we love doing watercolor crayon resist!

  2. growinginpeace says:

    Thanks! I just wish I knew who I got this idea from. I spent about a half an hour trying to retrace my blog-jumping steps to remember whose blog I saw this on recently.

  3. Dawn G says:

    Great idea! My girls would love this. I’m filing it for this summer.

  4. MaryAnne says:

    Fun post! We’ve done something similar using white crayon and watercolor paints – an idea I originally saw here:

    http://www.frugalfamilyfunblog.com/2009/04/secret-paintings.html

  5. Branflakes says:

    I REALLY need to try this with my kiddos.

  6. Kristi says:

    Fun Fun! I’m with Dawn, this is going in my files and we will definitely do.

  7. Crystal says:

    Great Idea! We are going to have to try this. My daughter loves painting.

  8. growinginpeace says:

    MaryAnne – thanks for the link, but the one I was thinking about I think had a bird on the picture. I’m so frustrated because I can’t find it. Oh well, hopefully I’ll come across it again. I have been looking at so many great blogs lately, they are starting to run together!

  9. Diana says:

    This looks like a lot of fun. I will have to try it with my boys.

  10. Katie says:

    That is a very fun idea. I am sure we could come up with lots of things to teach with that technique…shapes, numbers, letters, etc.
    Thanks for sharing it!

  11. growinginpeace says:

    Katie, and others – it is fun, and the prep work is SOOO easy. It doesn’t take long at all. Plus, it’s great for the little ones who don’t have a lot of fine motor control to actually make their own letters yet.

  12. Kristiana says:

    that;s a very cool idea!

  13. teachingyoungchildren says:

    Awesome idea! I’ve got to try it and surprise my husband too. I guess I need to get watercolor colors first though – or do those washable Crayola paints count as watercolors?

  14. Mama King says:

    Great idea! I am gathering all these great ideas from the picnic as I will be beginning to introduce the ABC’s in a more meaningful way.

  15. Holly says:

    Very cool; we’ll have to try this.

  16. growinginpeace says:

    Mama King – I’m collecting the great ideas too. Some of the posters have come up with some VERY neat stuff!

  17. growinginpeace says:

    Teachingyoungchildren

    Yes, just your regular crayola watercolors should work. I *think* ours are washable, but the inserts get thrown out after they are opened so I’m not 100% positive.

    You can always do a test run of them before you introduce them to the kidlets to make sure.

  18. Sarah says:

    Love love love this! I am for sure going to be using it as we are embarking on our 26 weeks of alphabet. What a fun idea!

  19. growinginpeace says:

    Sarah – thank you very much.

    Everyone – I love the enthusiasm for this really simple project. It really warms my heart🙂

  20. Eva says:

    great idea! I want to try this out with my daughter🙂

  21. Excellent… my kids will LOVE this… thanks for sharing!

  22. jennifer says:

    That is a fun project, my kids love doing this.

    Thanks for sharing with Friday Showcase!!!!

  23. Katie says:

    Oh how fun, and even my little one can do this! We did crayon resist projects in my K class. Have you tried writing the letter with a thick white crayon?

  24. growinginpeace says:

    No we hadn’t tried that, but I bet that will work too! Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

