Domino Math

I’ve used another one of the fabulous worksheets at First-School Preschool Activities and Crafts. This time its for Domino Addition. This time I’m using it for my 5.5 year old.

They have printable dominoes, but since we have a set of double six dominoes, I’m just using the addition template for the ones we have.

I printed it off on cardstock, then slipped it inside a glossy sheet protector. I gave my daughter a dry erase marker to use with it, and she wrote out the math equation and solved for the answer by counting the total numbers of dots. The dry erase marker simply wipes right off.

Photobucket

As she gets proficient, I’m going to replace the double six set with a double 12 set of dominoes. When she’s comfortable with addition, I’m going to modify the sheet and use it for subtraction.

This entry was posted in Math. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Domino Math

  1. Lona says:

    I used to do this when teaching. It’s a great way to give variety in math practice. You could also make multiplication problems as she gets older. And I’ve used them to make double-digit problems. For example, using the dominoes pictured, you could make 43 + 66 = . Thanks for sharing this idea!

  2. growinginpeace says:

    Thanks for the great extension to this idea, Lona. I’m always looking for more great math ideas.

  3. b says:

    I’m loving the ideas that you’ve shared. I’m saving them to try out with my kids too. thanks!

Leave a Reply

