ABC’s and 123’s Summer Prize Picnic Introduction

blogbutton-Page001-2

This is my introduction to ABC’s and 123’s Learning Cooperative Summer Prize Picnic. I’m not in it for the prizes, but I’m in it because I think they are a wonderful site to share ideas for teaching kids and because I love reading about new ideas and sharing ones I’ve found:

~About you & your family:  We are a family of 5 – mom, dad, and three girls, 7, 5.5, and 4 and three furry friends (2 cats and a brand new puppy). I am 38 years old and have had 12 years of clinical laboratory experience in three different areas (microbiology, forensic DNA, and medical genetics). When my second child was 9 months old, I quit my last laboratory position to stay at home with my children. The two older girls go to public school, but I still love teaching my kids when they are home and they love learning with me so it’s working out great for all of us.

~How long have you been reading ABC & 123? About two months now.

~How did you come up with your blog title? Because I consider childhood to be full of wonder and exploration and excitement. I used to have science experiments on this blog, too, until I realized I had enough science things for it’s own spin-off. So I named this blog The Wonder Years, and created the science spin-off The Exploration Station (which includes experiments and nature study).

~What types of activities do you most enjoy doing with your children? They like to do math activities and science activities the most.

My favorite math posts:

Preschool Cookie Math

Muffin Tin Multiplication

Teaching Division To Young Children

My two older children are reading right now, so it’s just the littlest one who needs a little extra help with her alphabet, so we have fun alphabet activities to give her a little help with letter recognition and color recognition

~What is your favorite picnic activity and food? Favorite activity: for me- playing volleyball or frisbee, for the kids – playing tag or red light green light. Favorite food – fried chicken – bad for you…but oh, so tasty.

~What are your summer plans?

  1. see the Harry Potter exhibit at the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago.
  2. visit the local arboretum and go on one of their Saturday Woodland hikes.
  3. visit again the  living historical farm and Indian Camp again since our trip was cut short last year by a looming summer storm
  4. visit Starved Rock State Park with some beautiful walking trails and canyons
  5. berry picking again for blueberries and raspberries
  6. swim a lot at grandma’s pool

My oldest is planning on reading 100 books this summer and she’s going to a science summer day camp for 4 weeks.

All three of them will be performing a ballet recital in June.

I plan on doing more science experiments with them, watch our sunflowers grow, continue to bird watch and study nature.

And of course, continue to play and work on skills.

This entry was posted in ABC and 123's Picnic. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to ABC’s and 123’s Summer Prize Picnic Introduction

  1. Katie says:

    Thanks for the fun intro! You have an amazing science background. That is fantastic and lucky for your girls! We also hope to get to the Harry Potter exhibit in IL. Looks fun!

  2. growinginpeace says:

    Katie – thanks🙂. I love science a lot and am really beginning to love math too. I miss working sometimes, but I wouldn’t trade being able to be home with my girls and teach them for the world. My girls keep asking me when we are going to go to the HP exhibit and will not rest until they go.

  3. Branflakes says:

    I’m so happy to get to know alittle more about you!

  4. MaryAnne says:

    Great to “meet” you! I worked in a medical genetics lab my freshman year of college, it was fascinating. I love your math activities!

  5. growinginpeace says:

    Branflakes – thank you. I can’t wait to meet the others to from ABC and 123s Summer Picnic too!

  6. growinginpeace says:

    Mary Anne

    That’s neat that you worked in a medical genetics lab. I’d love to hear what kind of things you did.

  7. Dawn G says:

    Nice to meet you!! Thanks for the links to the math activities. My 5 yr old is just starting addition in kindergarten so this will be great for her over the summer.

  8. growinginpeace says:

    Dawn – You’re welcome. I am learning to really like making math fun and I remember it being so dreadfully boring in school way back in the “old days”.🙂

  9. Jenny says:

    Great to meet you. Have a wonderful Summer!

  10. growinginpeace says:

    Jenny, thanks. Have a terrific summer too!

  11. Mama King says:

    Wow! I am really looking forward to exploring both your blogs. Science and Math are not my forte but would love to start incorporating some activities with my little ones. Thanks! I am adding you to my google reader.

  12. growinginpeace says:

    Mama King, welcome! I think math and science seem more intimidating than they should be. All it takes is curiosity and a willingness to try. You even learn from mistakes when you do experiments. The library has books on science experiments and the internet is full of them, which is why I’m trying to collect ideas from all over.

  13. teachingyoungchildren says:

    Well, obviously I am a repeat visitor to your blog🙂 Thanks for profiling ABC site a few days back, I followed your link to that great site, but I will never stop reading yours.

  14. Missy says:

    Stopping by from ABC & 123! It is nice to meet you! Can not wait to check out your crafts!

  15. Diana says:

    Thanks for the intro. I would love to see the Harry Potter exhibit, but Chicago is a bit too far for my family (we’re in Arizona). I am looking forward to printing out the cookie math activity, and some of the other printables from the same link. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Katie says:

    I am so going to raid your science blog for ideas, even though my husband has a PhD in Chemistry and is a big math guy too I’m sorry to say I am lacking in those areas. Even basic science concepts are hard for me to teach, I just was never encouraged to really get interested in those subjects. So they have never been favorites but I did a few experiments with ER and she just loved them and responded so eagerly to them that I am anxious to encourage that. Thanks for linking…you’ve got a ton of good ideas and I am so going to feature those learning center eventually. I’ve got them bookmarked so I won’t forget about them!

  17. Holly says:

    I enjoyed reading your intro. My 6-year-old is really loving math and science right now and loves making up his own experiments. I think I’ll try the crater experiments with him…

  18. Kristi says:

    Love reading about you! And your header picture is fabulous!

  19. Annie says:

    Is nice to know more about you. Is my first time here and I like it.

  20. growinginpeace says:

    Hi Missy! I love making toys for the kids, in fact, I’m wanting to do some more, but there never seems to be enough time!

  21. growinginpeace says:

    Diana – Hi! and you’re welcome. I can’t believe the incredible resource some of these online sites are so I just had to share them.

  22. growinginpeace says:

    Katie – I never knew math could be so much fun, I just thought it was a necessary part of doing science. But I realize that I’m discovering some really cool things about math as I’m showing them.

    As far as science goes, you learn a lot even if it doesn’t turn out as well as you’d hoped it would.

  23. growinginpeace says:

    Holly – just be prepared for it to be messy.

    Oh, and when you are done – the cocoa powder + flour makes a great sensory activity too. I saved it and put it in a covered bin and the girls play with it too. It smells great and feels so soft! I’ll eventually have to throw it out, but it’s been good so far for a couple of weeks.

  24. growinginpeace says:

    Kristi, hello! Thanks about the header – that’s my five year old and she loves the fruit kabobs and making patterns! I don’t think I got a chance to look at your blog yet, but I will do so after I finish replying here.

  25. growinginpeace says:

    Annie – thanks for saying hello and I’m glad you like my site.

  26. growinginpeace says:

    Teachingyoungchildren – oops I replied to you out of order. I’m glad you like the ABC site. I think it’s a great place to share learning ideas. I think that’s what I liked the most about it – so many good ideas to try.

    Thanks so much for the continued reading!

  27. I love science too!!! I’m an elementary teacher that isn’t exactly teaching at the moment because I graduated in December, but when I was interning science was my favorite subject to teach. I taught kindergarten for a semester this past year and watching them become little scientists and asking questions was my greatest joy!

  28. growinginpeace says:

    Terra – welcome! Yes, it is really fascinating to see kids ooh and ahh over the littlest discoveries. To them, everything is amazing!

  29. Sharon says:

    Hi! Stopping in for the ABC & 123 picnic! Thanks so much for the link to growing sunflowers – we currently have some waiting to sprout right now! I’m hoping to post pictures on my blog (if all goes well! I am lacking a green thumb!) Looking forward to getting to know you!🙂

Leave a Reply

