Math day

My 5.5 year old stayed home from preschool today because her sister was sick, so we decided to play some math games.

She made up a sorting game with the different dice we had. The newspaper had an article about Harry Potter and it had circles on it, so she used the circles to sort dice into, either by color or by shape.

Photobucket

When she was done, she decided to play a memory game with me and told me to close my eyes while she removed a few pieces and I was supposed to guess which ones were missing. We actually ended up doing this a few times, then laughing a lot when the last thing she did was remove ALL of them and expected me to remember everything.

When we were done with that, we did some addition with dice and flat marbles.

Photobucket

Finally, she wanted to do some math problems on the dry erase board and she wrote out the pictures, the number sentences, and summed them.

Photobucket

It’s going to be interesting to see how she takes to kindergarten, because she’s already doing things that she will learn in K (not just at home, but at her early intervention preschool as well, they have the kids learning the pattern of the day). I know I can’t worry too much until she gets there.

This entry was posted in Math. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Math day

  1. teachingyoungchildren says:

    Wow, this is really impressive. I hope that your kindergarten is ready to deal with kids who are above the grade. How is your oldest doing in school?

  2. growinginpeace says:

    I don’t know what normal development is for their ages so it’s hard to say if this is all that impressive. I don’t know what I’m going to do if school doesn’t meet her needs.

    The school was one of the first schools to implement the RTI (response to intervention) reading programs in the state for special needs and gifted kids. They have pull-out groups for reading and they will implement pull-out groups for math sometime in the future. It’s a start and for my oldest it seemed to be good enough. Whether or not it will be enough for the preschooler, I don’t know.

    My oldest (first grade) is doing pretty well and seems content. They have her in a pull-out class for reading, and they are doing second grade work in there. However, they do let her read what she wants for the accelerated reader program. She currently reads 3rd-4th grade level chapter books and gets 100% on them.

    Her class keeps journals, so they get a lot of creative writing practice in, so that’s great. Her teacher told me that she was recommending my oldest for the high ability group for 2nd grade.

    Although she’s not complaining about what they do in math, she asked to learn more things at home. She is learning multiplication at home off and on, and double digit addition with carrying. I have her compute bowling scores, keep score for our dice games and play money games and have her dish out the money. We have some workbooks for her and we of course do the science experiments for fun.

    So, between what she does at school and home, she seems content.

    The thing that I really am not sure is if my second child will have the same happy experience that my oldest did. My oldest learned to read and do math in kindergarten, but then took off soon after. She wasn’t interested in doing much at home before kindergarten and I wasn’t really interested in teaching reading or math at home (but I did want to do science experiments, because I love science).

    My 5 year old though, started spontaneously reading last year at 4.5. Green Eggs and Ham was her first book she started reading to me and she’s now reading at about a 2nd grade level.

    Then there’s the math stuff she seems to get and enjoy. Though she doesn’t do it everyday, we just do it once in a while.

    She’s very curious too. She asked how they came up with the names of the days of the week yesterday. We looked it up on the internet (thank goodness for the internet) and she read about them being named after Norse gods. She was obsessed with the placemat of the presidents we have and she told me that we need to get a new one because Obama isn’t on ours.

    But at the same time, she has the social anxiety and had issues with selective mutism, so it’s going to be interesting to see how things go. Her early intervention preschool teacher did test her using the Bracken kindergarten readiness test because she was curious a few months ago, and found that her composite score was that of a 7 year, 8 month old (though she maxed out of some subtests at 7 years 11 months). She was 5.5 when she took the test.

    I don’t know what will happen. I have to wait and see. I know enough that I can’t speculate until I see how she adjusts, how she feels about what she’s learning and go from there. I’m not a pushy parent, but I also know she’s might need more complex work than my oldest did too. I do know that they moved a kindergartener up to first grade this year, so I know it’s possible my 5.5 year old will be moved ahead too (provided her selective mutism doesn’t interfere). And yeah, based on her age, she would have been in K this year, except she missed the age cut-off by 2 weeks and it was non-negotiable last year. With her selective mutism, it wasn’t even something I could justify either.

    She has an IEP for her selective mutism in place for K. I do know the early intervention preschool is attached to the elementary school she’s going to go to, so the principal and kindergarten teachers probably know something about her already (because they all talk in the teachers lounge. That’s how I knew they talked about my oldest reading Harry Potter – the preschool teacher heard it from my oldest’s first grade teacher).

    I’m taking it one step at a time. There’s not much to do until I see how she takes to K.

  3. teachingyoungchildren says:

    Sorry – it took me a while to respond to your comment because of all the travel and settling back. I hope that your sensitive daughter will do well in kindergarten, and it’s good that the teachers know her already. She sounds like a very talented child, and I am curious to see how her talents develop over time. So I certainly hope that you keep this (and other) blogs to follow your girls’ progress through school years.

  4. growinginpeace says:

    Oh, that’s okay about getting back to me.

    I am curious too about my second daughter (well all of them really), because she is highly curious about things. She’s a sampler at the moment, not a diver, though. She likes to do things a little bit at a time, not spend hours on anything at the moment – which is appropriate given her age.

    I have only one hope for my children – that they be life-long learners and they are happy with themselves regardless of what they do in their lives. I tended to be a person who has always sought to “achieve” things out of some drive to prove myself (that has lots to do with my own upbringing), I know it has had consequences for me when I stopped working in the science field and I didn’t have a way to achieve something concrete anymore (ie a decent paycheck, praise etc).

    At any rate, I’m a firm believer in letting the child lead. I provide the “tools” they might be interested in and if they are interested, they find ways to make learning fun and if they don’t, they move on to something else. So far it’s been a great guide. They certainly let me know when they find something that’s not that fun for them.

Leave a Reply

