My new kitchen island…and kid-friendly healthy muffin recipe

I was salivating over seeing a large kitchen island with two storage shelves beneath at Target last week. When I looked at the price tag, it was marked $300. I figured, well, that’s not a horrible price (I’ve been looking online for a year and a half and have seen some upwards of $400 before shipping). I called hubbyman about it, didn’t purchase it then, but decided I’d wait until it was on sale. Turns out that I didn’t have to wait long because the very next week, it was clearanced for $210 and hubby bought it. He also said it was a good thing we didn’t wait long because it was only 1 of 2 left in the store.

It’s 45 inches wide by 25 inches deep and made of the environmentally friendly hardwood known as rubberwood. The thing is SOLID and heavy.

Photobucket

I plan to do a lot more baking and kitchen science with the kids now that I have the room to do so. I’m really excited about that.

Oh, and speaking of baking, my third daughter and I made this great “Toddler Muffin” recipe originally found on Recipezaar and shared on the Gentle Christian Mothers message board:

Toddler Muffins

3/4 c. applesauce
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 egg
1/4 c. veg. oil
1 c. grated carrots
1 c. grated zucchini (you can puree the veggies so the kids won’t be turned off by orange & green chunks!)
1 c. whole-wheat flour
3/4 c. all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp. salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, whisk oil & sugar. Beat in egg & applesauce. Stir in carrots & zucchini. In another bowl, whisk flours, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg & salt. Fold dry into wet, until just mixed. Grease muffin tray. Spoon in to tops of cups. Bake 18 – 20 minutes.

I’ve also upped the nutrients by adding some flaxseed oil and once I added blackstrap molasses (about 1/4 cup I think).

This entry was posted in homekeeping, Organization, Toddler/Preschooler and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

