Wooden playthings…

I went to the Blueberry Festival in Plymouth Indiana two weeks ago. I have been dying to go all year since I found a vendor who made unfinished wood animals out of pine last year. I painted them with acrylic paints and used them with the farm playmat I made just in time for Christmas:

Photobucket

Well, fast forward another year, and I finally got to go back and get more wooden goodies, This year I purchased more miniatures for our wooden dollhouse:

A bathroom set. The set came out to about $6.75. I decided just to use a beeswax polish on them to protect them from getting grubby.

Photobucket

And a bunch of little miniatures (I actually have three little snowmen, one for each of my girls and three angels). These ran from $0.15-$0.40. Not too bad. The natural beeswax polish warmed them up nicely.

Photobucket

I also have a number of wooden vehicles I don’t have a picture of yet, and after my camera battery gets charged, I will take a picture of them.

I also recently purchased from Bayer Wood Products
Christmas. Another good company for ordering unfinished wood products is Caseys Wood Products

My favorites are the jumbo milk bottles for their play kitchen and the wooden lighthouse for my oldest daughter’s ocean playmat (we had a paper mache one she decorated herself).

Photobucket

It’s been really nice not having to worry about toxic paints when you have unfinished wood products you can finish yourself.

This entry was posted in Natural playthings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wooden playthings…

  1. Melody says:

    Ooh, I live about 45 minute from Plymouth but never have gone to the festival. I do love all those goodies though! My kids are getting a wooden dollhouse for Christmas but it is as of yet unfurnished. Does the vendor you got the furniture from have a website or anything?

  2. growinginpeace says:

    I’m not sure about a website, but he does have a phone number and brochures. But he also has a booth at Shipshewana, though I don’t know if that’s close to you. He does mail the small things though, so if I can track down the brochures, I’ll post his number. I can’t remember if he actually has a store, but he actually might. He also makes large doll furniture and vehicles and trains. His prices seem really reasonable, and you can finish them anyway you want.

    As soon as I find the info, I’ll post it.

  3. Melody says:

    Thanks. I went to Shipshewana for the first time this summer and loved it. It is several hours away but a great day-trip. I don’t remember seeing that booth but there were just so many that we didn’t get to them all! I hope to go there again next season so I will have to keep an eye out!

  4. Hey we’re looking for feed back as to how we could make our hand made listings search engineHand Made Findbetter. Right now it searches Etsy and Dawanda. If you can think of other sites it should search or things it needs please tell us, like does the person you bought these from have their own website.

Leave a Reply

