Coin collecting with kids

We went to our local hobby shop (Hobby Town, if you wonder which one) the other day and the kids played with the train set they have while I was browsing their shop. I usually look at their science kits, but this day I had my eye on a state quarter book. My husband and I have collected a lot of them and put them in a cleaned out jar and I kept meaning to get a book for them.

So I found a rather plain looking, but large coin book and decided I was going to buy one of the large ones, rather than 3 of smaller books (and the books themselves were flimsy and seemed damaged possibly due to humidity).

I wasn’t all that impressed with the outside of the book, being plain slate gray.

Photobucket

But, I was pleasantly surprised to see a beautiful color map of the United States on the inside.

Photobucket

Photobucket

As you can see, we have quite a few of them collected already, but we still have a few yet to get.

It wasn’t at all what I was expecting on the inside (being relatively new to serious coin collecting). It is a great way to introduce/reinforce knowledge of geography while appreciating the fun and art of coin collecting. My children were asking me where they and there relatives lived. I was also able to tell them the states that I’ve been to before and the ones they’ve been to as well. It is a neat way to tell stories about them using the map as a “prop”. We reinforce the past while assigning a memory to the locations they’ve been. Eventually, they may actually remember geography better in school because we’ve talked about it when they were young.

I have only a few interesting coins from my youth – including a few silver dollars, a couple of Susan B. Anthony’s and a 1910 Indian head penny – somewhere located within this house. I have forgotten where I put them, so I have to go on a search for them. And when I do find them again, I think it’s time to give them the proper storage for them and the respect they deserve.

I also have a very sentimental coin from my wedding – a real British sixpence dated 1874 – that I have saved in my wedding scrapbook. A dear friend and colleague/mentor of mine from one of the laboratories I worked with gave it to me as a gift to put in my shoe when I got married 11 years ago. It really means a lot to me.

I really think it’s great that the they did come out with the state quarters as coin collecting is a really interesting, fun, and relatively inexpensive hobby to have. And it doesn’t take up a lot of room. I seemed to have renewed my interest in it as well. Obviously, this kind of collecting is also a hobby that both parents and children can enjoy together, and it can spur on discussions of geography and history.

This entry was posted in collections. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coin collecting with kids

  1. We started doing that when we lived in the US and then when we moved we took all the coins out to spend… ahem!

    If you ever want any modern day British coins just let me know😀

  2. “when we moved” = just before we moved… bad grammar!

  3. growinginpeace says:

    Thank you. Maybe I will in time. I hadn’t really thought of it, but I suppose we could also start collecting foreign currency too. My husband had brought back some coins and paper currency from his travels (Canada, Australia, and Mexico). If I can track those down, we can expand our collection too. Once upon a time, I used to have Polish coins (zlotys) when I traveled there when I was a girl. I wonder if my grandmother still has any.

    Not to worry about the grammar. I occasionally (okay, maybe even more than occasionally) flub things up too, though I don’t always catch myself. Besides, I am good at reading contextually – so I understood what you meant.

Leave a Reply

