Notecard art…

The blogworld is a wonderful place to find some fun and creative ideas for children. On a recent browsing trip to The Crafty Crow (a children’s craft collective), I stumbled across two great (and easy) art ideas from Scrumdilly-Do! involving index cards.

The first is a modern art design. The tutorial is here.

I helped my 6 year old by drawing the design, then she filled it in using markers.

Here is the before:

Photobucket

And here is the after:

Photobucket

This is a keeper. We used 4×6 index cards, though you could actually use cardstock and create your own modern art cards to send to friends and relatives.

The other art idea is Crazy Creatures. Using three or four index cards, you can create interchangeable creature/people. It’s easy, fun, and silly.

Here’s our examples:

The first one is my 6 year old’s attempt to imitate the one on Scrumdilly-Do!, and the other two are mine. We did these yesterday, but my 6 year old enjoyed them so much she’s making more today. It’s a fabulous rainy day project (and it’s rainy today).

Photobucket

(Shh, yeah, I know I forgot arms on the last guy).

This entry was posted in Arts and crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Notecard art…

  1. jek says:

    How fantastic! I love how enthusiastic your kidlet is! Thank you for sharing the pics!

  2. growinginpeace says:

    Hello! And thanks for the inspiration! It really caught not only my eye, but my daughter’s as well. I had it up on the computer and she kept running back and forth to look at the picture. She did a pretty good job of trying to duplicate it.

    Keep up the great work on your blog. 🙂

  3. MaryAnne says:

    Your daughter’s cards turned out great, and I love the crazy creatures idea too!

  4. growinginpeace says:

    Thanks Mary Anne – I still have that notecard on our refrigerator!

    I think it’s time to do some more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

