Happy Birthday to Me :)

Birthday cake my husband and daughters made for me (I think they did an awesome job!):

Photobucket

38 years ago today I blessed the world with my presence. 😛

10 things you may not know about me:

10. I like funny, offbeat satirical shows like the Simpsons, Family Guy, the Office, and The Big Bang Theory.

9. My favorite actor is Steve Martin. Yeah, even though he’s had white hair since his twenties, I’ve always found him very funny and attractive. I have had a crush on him, and a crush on Rainn Wilson, and John Krasinski (both of those two were on The Office [the American version anyway]). Oh, yeah, and Kevin Smith. Yeah, I know, not even close to being your standard definition of hot. But really, smart is $exy. Really.

8. I am smart: S-M-R-T. And funny.

7. I never thought marriage, parenting (and definitely not stay at home parenting) was something I cared to do when I grew up, and now it’s the only thing that lets me really work on the things that are important to me. My mom divorced when I was 2, remarried when I was 5, and there was many, many years of dysfunction all around growing up. It was painful to simply exist for an awful long time. I was really anti-marriage and anti-family. Until I fell in love with the man who changed all that (that would be you, dear husband).

6. I could never have started valuing my abilities or my self-worth without a few key people who have saved me from destroying myself. They may never know how much they changed my life. I can’t pay it back, I can only pay it forward. (And who knows, you might be next).

5. I dream about people I really like or who I was very attached to. Recently I dreamt about the mother of the friend of one of my daughter’s and her husband (yes, very strange, I’ve never dreamt about a woman or a married couple before – what could that possibly mean?).

4. I’ve lived in both the Midwest and the Southwest (New Mexico). I used to watch lizards in my backyard all the time. I recently found my childhood home on the satellite maps of Google. It was strange to see it look similar but different in the 20+ years since I’ve been there.

3. While I can’t take credit for the way my girls are, I really think the things we do at home are shaping them into very thoughtful, caring individuals (even though they do have their share of sibling squabbles). Maybe they’d be this way if I let them watch Han-nah Mont-ana (broken like that because I don’t like random search engines referencing my blog) like every other parent around here lets their 5 and 6 year olds, but it’s doubtful.

2. I really have the best husband in the world. Truly. I could list off a million little things, but it all comes down to the fact that he thinks of my needs and our girls’ needs as he does his own.

1. I truly am blessed with more than I could ever need with my husband and children and friends, which does a lot to make up for the first 27 years of dysfunctional family life.

My very first bird house (more like a bird condo! The rent would be outrageous on a place like that) that my husband let my girls pick out for my birthday. Leave it up to my husband to find one with technology in a birdhouse. It has solar cells to be used to light up the birdhouse at night.

Photobucket

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Birthday to Me :)

  1. Happy Birthday!

    I have a crush on Kevin Smith too!

  2. growinginpeace says:

    Welcome! I see you’ve traveled quite a ways to get here (from England). You have to love the internet and the blogworld for helping to meet new people. :).

  3. I bagged me a husband from the internet… way back in ’97! And one really good friend, so I’m a big fan 😀

  4. growinginpeace says:

    Oh, that’s so romantic. And I forgot to say thanks saying happy birthday.

    Speaking of husband’s, mine is up from the basement ready to give me a one last birthday present now that the kids are asleep (wink, wink, nudge, nudge, say no more Squire [oh, I’m a Monty Python fan too]). 😉

  5. LOL!! I hope you enjoyed it!!!!!

    It’s funny about Monty Python in the US, when I was living over there that’s what people would mention, but over here, it’s something our parents watched and people around my age tend not to know much about it! Hubs is a Monty Python fan!

  6. growinginpeace says:

    Yep, it was “Business Time” (Flight of the Chonchords, another one of me and my hubby’s favorites).

    Oh, speaking of other generational British humor, I used to watch Benny Hill with my grandfather when I was a little girl.

    Apparently I’m a real lover of British humor. 🙂

  7. I watched Benny Hill as a kid as well!

    We Brits are just fabulous at humour, self-deprecating as well 😉

Leave a Reply

