Serious creative block…

I have nothing new to report. I’m kind of at a serious loss of what cool thing to begin next.

My 6 year old daughter has been in a month long science camp – she’s gone 3 hours a day and it’s a mixed age class of K-4th grade. She’s really enjoyed learning all sorts of different things. She brought in her trilobyte fossil the day the topic was dinosaurs and fossils and they got to look at it under a scope. My 3 and almost 5 year old has been going to a pre-ballet class. They seem to enjoy it a lot.

I’m trying to declutter our small home. It’s very slow going.

I’m trying to focus on my needs a little bit. I’m trying to eat more fruits and vegetables and cut out the sweets and I’m trying to get back into walking. Fortunately, when my husband and I went for an overnighter in Chicago, we took the train and walked everywhere we wanted to go. I blogged about the trip on my other blog .

I’m reading more too. I don’t know about you, but I’m continually reading more than one book at a time.

Books I’m reading:
1. Anna Karenina. I bought this book a long time ago, but only now picked it up and seriously started reading it. It’s better than a modern romance.

2. The Last Child in the Woods. I’ve heard that this book is what inspired the National Wildlife Federation to start The Green Hour blog.

3. Kids, Parents and Power Struggles. I really like the book and how it addresses emotional intelligence and teaches not only how to recognize and deal with the emotions of the child, but also how to identify and deal with your own emotions. It really brings home a lot of the things I instinctively knew was important, but helps to really give concrete tools to bring down the intensity and connect with the child.

Anyway, that’s it for now. I hope to be inspired soon to do something creative.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serious creative block…

  1. Green Hour says:

    Glad your reading Louv’s book! Check out our website to get ideas for giving your kids their green hour!🙂

    Anne Keisman
    Online Media Coordinator
    NWF, Green Hour

  2. growinginpeace says:

    Thanks for replying, Anne. I do love that website! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

