Sensory boards

Okay, I know I said I probably wasn’t going to be able to post much this week, but today’s appointment got canceled, so we didn’t have as rough of a day as I thought we would.

I’m a textured fabric junkie. I know there are many crafters out there that love fabric, but I think mostly for the way they look (the oh so cute patterns on them). But I just adore running my hands along different textures of fabrics – rough, smooth, furry, satiny, crinkly, and on and on.)

I already have a box of fabric squares I have for a fabric matching game

Photobucket

Photobucket

Using a blindfold and one of each fabric square in two baskets, the child will match the fabrics based on touch. Some of the fabrics are close enough to be mistaken for each other, but as they get practice with it, they are better able to distinguish the fabric by touch. This is a homemade version of the tactile matching exercise as seen in Montessori teaching.

But, I also wanted to do something on a bigger scale with some other fabrics I have.

Over the weekend I made some neat sensory boards. They were easy enough to do with remnants of fabric I have found in the craft store remnant bins (usually half price if not more when they clearance the remnants), flat artist canvas, spray adhesive, and duct tape. Basically I sprayed the canvas, put on the fabric, and then folded the edges around the back and duct taped the edges down (yeah, it’s rough looking on the back side).

But the front side of the first five I made (and they consist of a pink satiny material, orange soft textured one, reddish rough one, a striped one that feels kind of like a washboard when you run your fingers over the stripes – and yes, I know it’s on there crooked, and the blue embroidered one that is a mix of texture and soft cotton).

Photobucket

And take a close up look of the embroidered cotton one. What I like about it is that in between the complex pattern is empty spaces are so soft in comparison to the texture of the pattern. It’s really fun.

Photobucket

You can make them in small sizes (like 5×7), medium sizes (8×10) or large (11×14). I ended up choosing two sizes (8×10) and (11×14) because of the amount of fabric I had.

I also have a few other pieces of fabric I’m dying to do something with. I haven’t decided what to do with them just yet. I don’t know if I want to cut up the alphabet one, because I will lose some of the letters doing so. I have been wanting to make an eye spy quilt out of some other fabrics I have, but
I have to collect some more. The alphabet practically makes up its own i-spy game, because it’s really hard to find all the letters (especially the ones in pink), and each letter has at least 3 objects that start with that letter.

alphabet
Photobucket

math
Photobucket

animals
Photobucket

My middle child seems to take the most interest in the fabrics. In fact, most of the sensory activities of Montessori seems to appeal to her the most. And every time I go to the fabric store and find a new interesting fabric, it’s always been with her in mind that I buy them. I know she adores the textures as much as I do.

There are more Montessori sensorial activities on the Montessori tab above. I am also going to take pictures as I add more sensory activities in the future.

This entry was posted in fabric, Montessori, sensory, SPD, therapy at home for SPD and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sensory boards

  1. dreamduke says:

    The Baan Dek Montessori is hosting a discussion dedicated to the advancement of Montessori education for the success of the twenty-first century and hoping you could contribute. We have established an online community to discuss various topics that concern the importance and relevance of Montessori education today, and for the future, and would greatly appreciate and welcome your participation. Our initial discussions can be found here and if you or other members would like to recommend further topics or contribute to one of our scheduled podcasts please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to a lively and stimulating debate and hope we can once more start the radical educational movement that Montessori enacted.

    Best wishes,

    Bobby + June George
    The Baan Dek Montessori

    email: director@thebaandekmontessori.org
    phone: 605.413.6297
    website: http://www.thebaandekmontessori.org
    please join our discussions

  2. Anonymous says:

    awsome work I love your sensory boards, I am also in the process of making my sensory boards as part of my assignment.

Leave a Reply

