Math – fraction circles

I had bought a set of plastic fraction circles from Walmart last year around September. I finally got dh to draw me some circles with fractions using Corel Draw. So this is what he came up with. I really like it. I am going to make it more permanent by putting it on cardstock and using self-stick laminating paper.

Photobucket

I thought it was a little premature to be introducing fractions, except I did notice my dd bring home a paper not to long ago from kindergarten with half circles on it. So, I guess it’s not too early to have them ready.

My 4.5 year old likes to play with them, calling them her pizza slices. I don’t know if I’m going to “do” anything more with them, but just let them do a matching game, I think.

This entry was posted in Math and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Math – fraction circles

  1. My kids are fascinated by fractions. I like your manipulatives.

  2. growinginpeace says:

    It just warms my heart that my girls are asking to “do math” instead of wanting to learn the lyrics to Hannah Montana songs like all of my oldest daughter’s 6 year old school friends.

Leave a Reply

