While we wait….marble painting

While we were waiting for my oldest daughter to come home from her morning kindergarten class (and we can start doing some salt/rice art), my almost 3 year old and 4.5 year old tried their hands at marble painting.

We just took some washable (remember, washable is our friend) tempera paints, some marbles, cookie sheets/cake pans, and some paper, and had fun. The girls had a blast doing it, and the best part about it is that my 4.5 year old couldn’t get upset that it wasn’t perfect because it wasn’t supposed to be. She was having way too much fun rolling the marbles around.

Notice there’s no table protector? For some reason, I usually forget, and as a result, I now have a dining room table with reminders of many of our little art projects. The table isn’t the fanciest to begin with, and I keep thinking of getting a new one some day, but then I’d actually have to think about protecting the surface and what fun would that be to be constantly worrying about damaging the table? I always remembered growing up about being chided about keeping the furniture nice. And even now, my mother seems to think the girls have too many art supplies (how can there ever be too many art supplies?).

K’s (4.5 yo) art:

Photobucket

Photobucket

E’s (3 yo) art (notice how she’s using the cake pan? I didn’t trust the munchkin not to send the marbles skittering onto the floor, which as you may notice, is CARPETED – the previous owners carpeted. Some day we’ll have laminate flooring. Some day). My K noticed that E made a rainbow in this picture.

Photobucket

I must say I’ve been inspired by Jean over at the The Artful Parent. Something about seeing other mamas doing projects with their children makes me want to do more with mine too. Her blog has some lovely interviews with creative women and lots of artful inspiration. Thank you so much for doing what you’re doing Jean!

Keeping my girls busy has the added benefit of keeping their hands busy and their minds on something other than fighting with each other because we’ve been so cooped up this winter with multiple colds.

This entry was posted in Arts and crafts, Toddler/Preschooler and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to While we wait….marble painting

  1. homeschoollearningforlife says:

    Oohh yeah… looks great. I’ve got this one lined up for tomorrow.

  2. growinginpeace says:

    The kids had a blast doing it and it’s one we will definitely be doing again!

  3. KatIsSavedByGrace says:

    That looks so fun! Another one I’m loving and can’t wait to do with my kids!

  4. growinginpeace says:

    The only thing I wish is that I had a mother like me because life would have been so much more fun when I was growing up!

Leave a Reply

