Entropy – the perfect excuse for clutter.

Ever since high school physics I’ve loved the word entropy. Why you may ask? Well, it really is the perfect excuse for disorganization.

From the Free Dictionary (online dictionary)

en·tro·py

(ntr-p)

n. pl. en·tro·pies

1. Symbol S For a closed thermodynamic system, a quantitative measure of the amount of thermal energy not available to do work.
2. A measure of the disorder or randomness in a closed system.
3. A measure of the loss of information in a transmitted message.
4. The tendency for all matter and energy in the universe to evolve toward a state of inert uniformity.
5. Inevitable and steady deterioration of a system or society.
Even wikipedia has got me pegged

In physics, entropy (from Greek εντροπία “a turning toward,” from εν- “in” + τροπή “a turning”), symbolized by S, is a measure of the unavailability of a system’s energy to do work.[3]

See, mom, it’s not my fault I tend to be disorganized. Really it isn’t. I have a really good reason for it. There really isn’t enough energy for me to keep my closed system (my house, in effect), clean. Especially not after having 3 children in 3.5 years. Yep, you heard right. I popped them out pretty quick (and no not on purpose – do you think I WANTED it that way?).But I’ve been making great strides towards changing things ’round here. Now that the oldest is 6 and the youngest is almost 3, it’s getting better.Still, another concept of physics is at work in my life.
in·er·tia(-nûrsh)

n.

1. Physics The tendency of a body to resist acceleration; the tendency of a body at rest to remain at rest or of a body in straight line motion to stay in motion in a straight line unless acted on by an outside force.
2. Resistance or disinclination to motion, action, or change
So really, even though I’m trying to conquer entropy (daily), inertia is a big factor. Which is why I sent my husband to get me a 16 oz cup of french vanilla capuccino from the corner store at 5 pm tonight. I actually am making progress (see my craft spaces page), but I feel myself running out of steam.Now don’t get me wrong, it’s way better than it was even a year ago, since I invested in some key pieces to help organize. Still, it doesn’t take long for things to get cluttered – that whole entropy thing again. I’ve always loved the idea of being organized – I have a scientific mind, after all. It’s just that even the laws of physics are working against me. Anyone with toddlers and preschoolers can agree there is a lack of energy available to do work, and inertia itself is working in both my children and me. The kids have youth on their side, it follows that their bodies in motion tend to stay in motion, while me, worn out from caring for them, keeping them occupied and mediating arguements, once my body is at rest, it tends to stay at rest.
But today I was fairly productive. It was a pretty good day to work on making things organized again. Here is one good example of my efforts today. An organized set of bookshelves. If only they could stay that way (I give it about 2 weeks before entropy starts to take hold again).
Photobucket

Aahhh! Now doesn’t that look nice?

This entry was posted in Arts and crafts, Organization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Entropy – the perfect excuse for clutter.

  1. Theresa says:

    Oh, you will totally appreciate this T-shirt I got my dd for Christmas. Check it out! http://www.mentalfloss.com/store/product.php?productid=16260
    Yes, we are geeks around here!LOL!

  2. growinginpeace says:

    Love it! Yes, we are geeks over here too. I am married to a geek too: a mechanical engineer. And dh has the Mental Floss website bookmarked!

Leave a Reply

