Family Game Night – The Amazing Labyrinth

I know it’s been a while, but I thought I’d start blogging here again.  My daughters are 10, 8 and 7 now, and while we don’t to preschool or kindergarten things here, we are still always looking for interesting things to do, especially now that softball season is over.

I don’t know what I intend to do with this blog, but we are still a learning family and so I thought I’d share some of the neat little games I find at thrift stores that are educational and fun and give little mini reviews of them.

The first is Ravensburger The Amazing Labryinth.

Photobucket

While the list price is $29.99, I purchased it for $2 at my local thrift store.  It was in excellent condition.

Photobucket
The game is listed for ages 8 and up, and sure enough, my 8 and 10 year old liked the concept, but my 7 year old was struggling a bit to understand.  My husband and I both found this game to be fun and challenging too.  I took over for my 7 year old, and ended up coming from behind, to winning the game.

The board and pieces are high quality – no flimsy work here.

The rules are fairly easy and so is the objective – try to collect your set of treasures that are on the cards you have been dealt with.   When you find the game piece, set it aside.  Don’t tell other people what your piece is, otherwise they will try to block your way.

What makes it challenging is that the board game constantly changes, due to some of the board pieces being moveable.   You take the extra board game piece (a square piece) and push one of the moveable lines of game board squares one unit forward or backward (where ever you see an arrow means that line moves).  This will move one board piece off the board to become the new mover for the next player’s turn.   Then, before your turn is over, you can move your colored game piece along a straight line as far as you want (either to the item you need to collect, or to the end of the line) or you can opt not to move it along.

What frustrated my 7 year old is that she had trouble determining where to best move the game board so she was in a better position to reach her target.  Then when someone came after her, she couldn’t get to her treasures because someone would inevitably block her path.

This was only after one instance of playing, so I imagine if we worked with her, she just might get the hang of it.

To date, 76 Amazon reviews gave this game 5 stars and 14 people gave it 4 stars.  I’d have to agree, this was a game worthy of its high ratings.

This entry was posted in Family game night, Thrifting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family Game Night – The Amazing Labyrinth

  1. I have never played this game before but it sounds jolly educational, challenging and fun at the same time. I am definitely checking this game as you have spiked my curiosity. Cheers!

  2. Sounds like a great game to hunt for. Since we have lots of thrift stores, maybe I’ll find one for $2 also! Glad you are doing this blog. Come visit me at toddlersthroughpreschool.com anytime.
    Cathie J

Leave a Reply

