Honest Scrap Award.

Thank you Basia, for nominating my blog for the Honest Scrap Award.

This award is bestowed upon a fellow blogger whose blog content or design is, in the giver’s opinion, brilliant. This award is about bloggers who post from their heart, who oftentimes put their heart on display as they write from the depths of their soul.

Conditions of this award:
Tell your readers 10 things about you that they may or may not know, but are true. Tag ten people with the award, and be sure to let them know they have been tagged (a quick comment on their blog will do). Don’t forget to link back to the blogger who tagged you.

10 Things About Me

(boy this is tough)

  1. I went to Poland for three weeks when I was 10 with my grandmother and sisters.
  2. My third daughter was conceived the day my husband was supposed to get a vasectomy but there was a mix-up and his doctor was on vacation that day instead.
  3. My Myers Brigg personality type is INFP and the best career should have been in a counseling-type role. Instead, I worked for 12 years in clinical laboratories (food microbiology, forensics and then medical genetics) before I came home to SAH when my second daughter was 9 months old.
  4. While I miss the lab a lot, I am grateful to be home with my girls teaching them what I know about science and math.
  5. I didn’t realize how fun math could be until I started looking for ways to teach the girls math.
  6. I’m pretty sure I have a mild form of dyscalculia which is one of the reasons for the heavy emphasis on math.
  7. That dyscalculia didn’t stop me from pursuing a science degree, even if I can’t easily calculate the tip for a restaurant bill.
  8. I learned a lot about selective mutism because I have a daughter who struggles with it. Here is a summary of her journey so far.
  9. I always wanted science kits and magnets and a mineral collection as a young child, which probably explains the strong desire to have them for my children and why I set up this learning center for them. We do lots of science experiments, and raised tadpoles into toads last year.
  10. I taught myself how to use a sewing machine and embroider a bit and love making toys for the kids.

I would like to nominate the following blogs -

1. Pink and Green Mama
2. Half Pint Pixie
3. Simple Kids
4. Snip and Snail
5. Her Cup Overfloweth.
6. Mouse Grows Mouse Learns
7. PhD in Parenting

If you are on the list, it’s because I wanted to let other people know I found your blogs particularly inspiring/beautiful/fun, etc. I know I’m three short, but I started this list before I found out about M’s former teacher and I got caught up in my upset and I’ve been processing some grief. Hopefully I’ll add some more later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Honest Scrap Award.

  1. Natalie says:

    Thank you for this award! I am really honored to receive it from you!

  2. Thanks so much for the lovely award, I really appreciate it. and THANK YOU for reading my blog!! : ) Fondly, MaryLea (aka Pink and Green Mama)

  3. growinginpeace says:

    Natalie – You are welcome. I just wanted to say I appreciate you being a regular poster to my blog and I like the discussions we have about children’s development. :)

  4. growinginpeace says:

    Marylea – I love the fun ideas at your blog. I keep thinking I want to throw a doctor party just because (not even because of a birthday). That looked like a blast! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

