Fabric map to teach geography

I have a few projects I’ve forgotten I wanted to work on, but one that I think I need to complete sooner rather than later is putting a backing on this fabric map I found at Walmart (not fond of their ethics, but really they have things I can’t find elsewhere locally). My original plan was to make an “I Spy” quilt on the backside, but I’m just not that ambitious.

My 5 year old is reading and so when I pulled out this piece of fabric I was listening to her read:

Photobucket

Black Sea
Canada
Greenland
India
Australia
United Kingdom

She asked me where the island was where the leprechauns lived. I told her “Ireland” and told her it was next to the United Kingdom and she was able to find it.

She was excited when she found India because that’s where her friend at school, Nirali had family and that Nirali went to visit them for a month earlier this year.

I asked her if she remembered anything special about Australia (thinking of Finding Nemo) and she replied, “Oh, that’s where that boy who had a bad day wanted to move to in that book”. After a few moments of thinking, I realized she was talking about Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

Since I posted, I also found a fabric map of the United States and a little bit of Canada (with provinces) and Mexico at Joann’s Fabric store. They have the states, the capitals and a picture or two of landmarks or historical facts. They also carry the world map too. Both are $6.99 (but cheaper if you have the 40% off coupon of course).

Photobucket

I love that the Declaration of Independence and the Liberty Bell is on there among other things.

Photobucket

I decided to line the state map with a fun bug print so that we can use the reverse side for a pretend picnic blanket.

Photobucket

My 7 year old has learned some geography in school and remembers that somewhere in South Dakota, Sue Hendrickson discovered the Dinosaur Sue. She was learning the state capitals also and the map makes it a good reference for her to remember them.

My children surprise me each and every day and I realize that they are the ones that make me realize that there are a lot of new things to learn and more than a few forgotten hings to brush up on. Geography was one of my favorite subjects and I forgot how much fun it was to learn about geography and make associations to locations and events around the world. Learning to them is fun, and I forgot how much so until they remind me.

This entry was posted in fabric, Geography. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fabric map to teach geography

  1. Michelle E. says:

    I have that same fabric map that I used to use while teaching — you just reminded me I need to go get it out, give it a good wash and put it in my daughter’s room. Thanks!

  2. growinginpeace says:

    You’re welcome! I ended up lining the US map with a fun insect print and we can use the reverse side for a pretend picnic.

  3. Michelle E. says:

    That’s a great idea! I’m going to get the world map this summer (gotta love Joann’s!)

  4. growinginpeace says:

    Michelle – Yes, definitely love the Joann’s! It’s a rare day when I walk out of that place without a few good finds!

  5. teachingyoungchildren says:

    Thank you for this! I was thinking of getting a map for Anna, but we don’t have space for a wall map. I am going to check out our Joann for one.

  6. looking for map says:

    Do you know where you can find the fabric online?

  7. How cool! Love the fabric map. I’m betting my kids would enjoy it because they are really into geography lately.

    While you are at it, here are some activities for learning about geography and culture through chocolate:

    http://www.examiner.com/x-15855-Huntsville-Education-Activities-Examiner~y2009m8d18-Learning-through-chocolate

  8. growinginpeace says:

    Mmm….chocolate…. I have to check out your article. Thanks Starr. :)

  9. growinginpeace says:

    looking for map

    here’s one location

    Fabric Map online

    They have the world map, but the US state map is out of stock. But it’s cheaper to buy it at Walmart (if you can find it) or at Joann Fabrics (if you have one near you).

  10. Aklotovich@yahoo.com says:

    I made think map into wall hangings and by collector pins of each state I go to. I made them for each of my neices, nephews and grand children so they could collect pins also during there trips

Leave a Reply

